Suan Ban Kaeo Palace (Wang Suan Ban Kaeo)
Wang Suan Ban Kaeo located in Tambon Tha Chang, inside the Rambhai Barni Rajabhat University, 6 kilometres from the city on Highway No. 316. The Palace used to be a royal residence of Queen Rambhai Barni, the Royal Consort of King Rama VII, for 18 years during 1950-1968. Buildings within the palace include: Phra Tamnak Yai or Phra Tamnak Thao is a half-wooden and half-concrete European style private residence wholly built with golden teakwood, which was used as a royal guest reception as well. Today, the residence is the exhibition of a collection of the Queen’s personal belongings that reflect her simple and ordinary way of life, Phra Tamnak Don Khae or Phra Tamnak Daeng, a 2-storeyed European style building built with teakwood houses the Chanthaburi Folk Museum that is divided into 5 chambers: Chanthaburi geography room, music and dancing room, local cultural room, gem-digging room, and local wisdom room. Ruean Khiao located 200 metres to the southwest of Phra Tamnak Thao is a green wooden single floor house. Currently, it is the Office of Art, Culture and Community Development of the Rambhai Barni Rajabhat University. Ruean Daeng located to the southwest of Phra Tamnak Thao, is currently a research and study room for the biography of King Rama VII. Wang Suan Ban Kaeo is open on Tuesday-Sunday, during 9.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m. For group visits, please contact the Office of Art, Culture, and Community Development, the Rambhai Barni Rajabhat University, at Tel. 0 3947 1064,0 3931 9111 ext. 7000-1, www.rbru.ac.th.